Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm 2017: The Winners Edition

By Mridula Dwivedi February 15, 2017 4 Comments , ,
Suresh Rana and Ashwin Naik

The Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm 2017 concluded on 4th February in Jodhpur. The rally was flagged off from Hanumangarh on 28th January. The journey took the drivers through Bikaner, Jaisalmer and Jodhpur.

There were plenty scenarios of drama before the winners were eventually decided. The toughest sections during the rally were: the 198-kilometer-long stretch which was done at a go and the night stage which tested the skills of the drivers to the utmost.

In the Xtreme category Maruti Suzuki’s Suresh Rana and Ashwin Naik (featued in the first picture) successfully defended their title. In spite of getting a 16-minute penalty at stage 2 of #MSDesertStorm2017, they managed to pull through and emerge as winners eventually. They were driving a Maruti Suzuki Grand Vitara this year in the Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm.

R Nataraj
R Natraj at the Podium!

The Moto class witnessed a drama of another kind. CS Santosh of Hero MotoSports was the favorite and defending champion. He displayed a good form throughout the rally. But he too got a 16-minute penalty midway, yet he maintained a narrow 42 second lead. He came ahead of the pack in the end, but he somehow missed the correct finish line and crossed it 30 minutes later after reaching in the vicinity. The winner then was R Nataraj of TVS Racing.

Karthick Maruthi and S Sankar Anand
Karthick Maruthi and S Sankar Anand at the Podium!

The Ndure and Xplore categories are meant to encourage newcomers to the motor sports. In the Ndure category 4X4 vehicles no modifications take part. Xplore is meant for 2 Wheel Drives. But the 2 Wheel drives also had sand dunes for a part of their route. In the Ndure category, Nikunj Toshniwal and co-driver Suvrajit Dutta took away the first spot. Maruti Suzuki VitaraBrezza driven by Karthick Maruthi and S Sankar Anand were the victors in the Xplore category in the 2017 edition. The glittering closing ceremony took place in Jodhpur.

Nikunj Toshniwal and Co-driver Suvrajit Dutta at the Prize Ceremony

Now that the Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm has come to an end, it is time to check out their other rallies. They manage a busy calendar throughout the year in different parts of the country. Maruti Suzuki National Superleague TSD Rally Championship, Maruti Suzuki Autocross championship, Uttarakhand Rally, Deccan Rally, Backwaters Rally, Mughal Rally, Rally of Arunachal and Rally of Himachal are such events to take motorsports to masses. As the names suggest each rally covers a scenic route within the country.

You can see more pictures of the #MSDesertStorm2017 and information about upcoming events from the Maruti Suzuki Motorsport Facebook and Twitter page.


4 thoughts on “Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm 2017: The Winners Edition”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

I am Mridula Dwivedi, I love to travel! I started my travel blog in 2005. I have been going places since! For more details do check out my media kit! In another life I did a Ph.D. from IIT Kanpur. I was a professor when I quit my job in 2015.

Recent Blog



Gonomads Blogs

Have a look